“Springing Forward”


“Daylight Saving Time: A Look Back at “Springing Forward”

Most people living in United States will set their clocks ahead one hour on Sunday, which marks the official start of nearly seven months of daylight saving time.
However, residents of Arizona, Hawaii, and parts of eastern Indiana—along with the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, among others—won’t “spring forward.” Those locales will continue to observe standard time within their particular time zones.

So how do some folks get away with sticking to their clocks? Contrary to popular belief, no federal rule mandates that states or territories make the switch.”

Learn more @ National Geographic News
Updated April 2, 2004

Photo: A craftsman restores the clock face of Big Ben in London, England. The United Kingdom will mark the start of daylight saving time on Sunday at 1 a.m., one hour earlier than most states and territories of the United States. Photograph by Bruce Dale, copyright National Geographic Society

Print it in Moleskine MSK format
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

I accept Privacy policy and Terms of use